Working Professional Seeking Room for Rent

Who am I?

My name is Doug Kulak and I'm 32 years old. I am a non-smoker but do not care if you smoke. 

What am I looking for?

I am looking for a private room that is fully or partially furnished, ideally with a private bathroom w/shower. I would prefer access to laundry and the kitchen to do some light cooking (e.g. microwave, freezer, stovetop).

I am a very organized and respectful person and can assure you that I clean up after myself in every way (e.g. no dirty dishes left, no clothes strewn about, no messy room, etc.). While I do not necessarily care how tidy (or not) you decide to keep the place, I will personally try and make my presence go mostly unnoticed. 

Where am I looking?

I would like to rent a place within a 15-mile radius of Brea, CA. 

When are you looking?

I am available to move in anytime after July 24th, 2015. 

What do I do for work?

I work full-time as an IT Application Development Consultant for Nationwide's Pet Insurance division, headquartered out of Brea, CA. I also own and run a couple e-commerce websites that I work on in my spare time. One sells fishing tackle, the other sells e-commerce software extensions of which I am the author. 

What do I do for fun?

I used to be quite an avid PC gamer (my personally built PC here) but have been focusing all of my free time on work the past couple of years. When I do manage to take a break, I enjoy getting outdoors, hiking, mountain biking, swimming, snowboarding, and socializing with friends. 

Why am I looking?

I am mutually separating from my wife and need some time and space to reflect on our relationship and determine if it is worth continuing. I anticipate needing a place to stay for around 6 months. However, should the arrangement work out well for both landlord and tenant, I would hope that I could stay longer if desired. Additionally, should the relationship with my wife improve dramatically, I would hope that I could move out sooner if necessary but would be willing to commit to a 3-month minimum.

What sort of preferences, likes, or dislikes do I have?

I'm a pretty simple guy that grew up in a pretty simple, small town. I'm an easy-going person and respect people from all walks of life. I do not have any preferences on your age, race, sex, religion, political beliefs, smoking habits, pets, interests, etc. To be honest, I work full-time and am very busy. I will be spending the majority of the time at work, out with my friends and family, in my room working on the computer, or sleeping. With that said, if I had to choose, I'd prefer that you are simply organized and clean. Once again, not required at all, since I will not have a lot of time to interact and socialize. 

Also, no preference on how many other roommates there are, as long as I can have some privacy and do my work in my room in peace. 

What are my hours like?

I'm typically up around 6:00am, working on the computer until 7:30-8:00am, heading into work around 8:00-8:30am, back from work around 4:30-5:00pm, taking a break until 7:00pm, working on the computer until 10:00pm, and hopefully asleep by 11:00-12:00am. Rinse and repeat. 

How much am I looking to pay?

Honestly, the cheaper the better. While nice places are, well, nice... I do not need any luxuries or frills and am essentially just looking for a place to lay my head at night that also has internet access so I can work on my laptop. If you have a nice place, that's great and I'd love to check it out as long as the price is competitive. If you have a somewhat run-down place, that's fine too, as long as the neighborhood is safe. 


32-year old web developer seeks room for rent near Brea, CA. Ideally has (but not required):

  • Private bathroom
  • Laundry access
  • Kitchen access (e.g. freezer, microwave)
  • Internet
  • Bed to sleep on
  • Desk/chair to work on laptop computer
  • Single parking space

How can you contact me?

Please call or text me on my cell at 949-444-5005. You can also e-mail me at

Thanks for looking! Please do not hesitate to ask if you have any questions.


Doug Kulak